Outdoor Classes


surfing hi k2

 

EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 2018: ALL SRS WATER BASED PROGRAM PARTICIPANTS ARE REQUIRED TO TAKE A BASIC SWIMMING TEST BEFORE SIGNING UP FOR CLASSES AND ACTIVITIES. PLEASE CLICK HERE FOR THE FLYER.


Beginning Surfing

Learn the water sport of Hawai'i!! This class is for beginners and transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim.

 

One Day Classes
$30 UHM Student & WRC Members
$35 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)
**The maximum amount of spots per surfing class is 6.** Classes are held at Diamond Head.

 

Jan 12 Sat (7:30am-10:30am)
Jan 14 Mon (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Jan 25 Fri (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Jan 29 Tues (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Feb 8 Fri (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Feb 15 Fri (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Feb 17 Sun (7:30am-10:30am)
Mar 9 Sat (8:00am-11:00am)
Mar 26 Tue (3:00-6:00pm)
Mar 30 Sat (7:30am-10:30am)
Apr 2 Tue (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Apr 12 Fri (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Apr 21 Sun (7:30am-10:30am)
May 2 Thu (3:00pm-6:00pm)

 


Stand-Up Paddling

Learn the basics of Stand-Up Paddling, one of the newest, fastest growing water sports. Participants must be able to swim. Transportation and equipment provided.

$30 UHM Student & WRC Members
$37 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)
Classes are held at Sand Island.

 

Jan 31 Thu(3:00pm-6:00pm)
Feb 19 Tue (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Mar 12 Tue (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Apr 18 Thu (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Apr 30 Tue (3:00pm-6:00pm)

 


Body Boarding

Body Boarding is enjoyed at most beaches in the State of Hawai'i. Come learn the basics of body boarding and water safety at a beach with shore break. Transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim. Body boarding is limited to UH students, faculty, staff and their guests. All excursions take place at Waimanalo

$22 UHM Student & WRC Members
$27 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)
Classes are held at Waimanalo.

 

Jan 27 Sun (9:00am-12:00pm)
Feb 24 Sun (9:00am-12:00pm)
Mar 10 Sun (9:00am-12:00pm)
Mar 30 Sat (1:30pm-4:30pm)
Apr 28 Sun (2:00pm-5:00pm)

 


Hiking

Explore the island of Oahu. Join organized hikes to scenic locations.

Transportation provided.

$7 UHM Student & WRC Members
$12 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

Jan 13 Sun (8:30am-1:30pm) - Kaena Point
Jan 19 Sat (8:30am-1:30pm) - Kuli'ou'ou Ridge Trail
Feb 2 Sat (8:30am-12:30pm) - Makapu'u Tide Pools
Mar 3 Sun (12:30pm-5:30pm) - Koko Head
Mar 9 Sat (12:30am-5:30pm) - Waimano Pools
Apr 28 Sun (8:30am-12:30pm) - Maunawili Falls
May 3 Fri (8:30am-1:30pm) - Manoa Falls

 


Kayaking Excursions

Excursions are lead to different parts of Oahu and are intended for the beginner kayaker. Learn kayak and water safety skills while experiencing different scenic areas around the island. Participating in a kayak excursion or class will allow you to take the kayak safety test and receive UH kayaker certification card enabling you to rent our kayaks. Excursions are limited to UH students, faculty, staff and their guests. Transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim.

$27 UHM Student & WRC Members
$32 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

Jan 20 Sun (9:00am-1:00pm) - Kahana Bay
Jan 26 Sat (8:30am-1:30pm) - Hawaii Kai to Kahala
Feb 3 Sun (7:30am-11:30am) - Flat Island
Feb 10 Sun (8:30am-12:30pm) - Chinaman's Hat
Feb 23 Sat (7:30am-12:30pm) - Mokulua Island
Mar 31 Sun (10:00am-2:30pm) - Malekahana (Goat Isle)
Apr 13 Sat (7:00am-12:30pm) - Mokulua Islands
Apr 20 Sat (9:00am-1:30pm) - Chinaman's Hat
May 3 Fri (1:00pm-6:00pm) - Kahana Bay

 


Introduction to Sailing

This one day class introduces participants to the basics of sailing while enjoying and taking part in a cruise around Keehi Lagoon aboard a 20' keel boat. Equipment and transportation provided. Participants must be able to swim.

$22 UHM Student & WRC Members
$27 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

No classes scheduled at this time.

 


Beginner Sailing

This is a great opportunity to learn a great lifetime sport. Classes are taught in 20' keelboats and include both classroom and on-the-water sessions. Instruction will include basic sailing theory and concentrate on boat handling techniques at Keehi Lagoon. Transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim.

$97 UHM Student & WRC Members
$132 PVS
$152 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)
Classes are held at Ke'ehi Lagoon.

 

Jan 26 - Feb 16 Sat (2:00pm-6:00pm)
Feb 4 - Feb 25 Mon (2:30pm-6:30pm)
Feb 17 - Mar 10 Sun (2:00pm-6:00pm)
Apr 7 - Apr 28 Sun (2:00pm-6:00pm)

 


Intermediate Sailing

Continue where you left off with the beginner class and learn more advanced sailing theory and boat handling techniques. This class gives you time to practice and gives you a taste of racing. Classes are taught in 20' keel boats and include both classroom and on the water sessions. Transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim.

$97 UHM Student & WRC Members
$132 PVS
$152 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

Apr 6 - Apr 27 Sun (2:30pm-6:30pm)

 


Sailing Adventure

Sail off the beautiful Waikiki shoreline. Makani Catamaran's eco-friendly spirit of the ocean provides breathtaking views suitable for students, families and guests!

 

No classes scheduled at this time

 


SCUBA

Discover the underwater beauty of the Pacific. Receive a NAUI/SSI Open Water Certification upon completion of the course. Classes are taught at the Duke Kahanamoku Aquatics Complex on campus. Participants MUST be able to swim and provide their own mask, fins, snorkel and transportation to the weekend dive sites. SCUBA Class sign up only at the lower Campus Office Athletics Building Rm 200

$220 UHM Student & WRC Members
$235 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

Session 1

Jan 22, 24, 29, 31, Feb 2, 3
Tues/Thurs Evenings 6:00pm - 9:30pm
Sat 8am/Sun 7:15am


Session 2

Feb 12, 14, 19, 21, 23, 24
Tues/Thurs Evenings 6:00pm - 9:30pm
Sat 8am/Sun 7:15am


Session 3

Mar 27, 28, Apr 3, 4, 7, 8
Tues/Thurs Evenings 6:00pm - 9:30pm
Sat 8am/Sun 7:15am


Session 4

Apr 16, 18, 23, 25, 27, 28
Tues/Thurs Evenings 6:00pm - 9:30pm
Sat 8am/Sun 7:15am


 


Snorkeling

Explore the wonderful marine life that Hawai'i has to offer at Shark's Cove (North Shore, Oahu). Equipment and transportation provided for the first ten people. Participants MUST be able to swim!

$22 UHM Student & WRC Members
$27 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

Apr 27 Sat (8:30am-12:30pm)

May 5 Sun (8:30pm-12:30pm)


Life Guarding Class

Receive a Red Cross Basic Life Guarding Certificate on completion of the class. Classes taught at the UH pool.

$111 UHM Student & WRC Members
$121 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

Session 1

Jan 29, 30, 31 - 6:00pm - 10:00pm


Session 2

Apr 30, May 1, 2 - 6:00pm - 10:00pm

 



 

Beginner Sailing

This is a great opportunity to learn a great lifetime sport. Classes are taught in 20' keelboats and include both classroom and on-the-water sessions. Instruction will include basic sailing theory and concentrate on boat handling techniques at Keehi Lagoon. Transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim.

$97 UHM Student & WRC Members
$132 PVS
$152 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)
Classes are held at Ke’ehi Lagoon.

 

Aug 26 - Sep 16 Sun (8:30am-12:30pm)
Sep 22 - Oct 13 Sat (8:30am-12:30pm)
Oct 28 - Nov 18 Sun (2:00-6:00 pm)

 


Intermediate Sailing

Continue where you left off with the beginner class and learn more advanced sailing theory and boat handling techniques. This class gives you time to practice and gives you a taste of racing. Classes are taught in 20' keel boats and include both classroom and on the water sessions. Transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim.

$97 UHM Student & WRC Members
$132 PVS
$152 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

No classes scheduled at this time.