UH Hilo Chancellor’s Scholarships now available

University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo
Posted: Dec 16, 2008

University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo Chancellor‘s Scholarships are now available, seeking the best and the brightest student leaders in Hawaiʻi‘s public, private and charter high schools.

The application deadline is January 31, 2009 for the 2009-2010 academic year. Applications are available through high school counselors Statewide and online at http://www.uhh.hawaii.edu/prospective/chancellorscholars.php.

Applicants must apply and be accepted to UH Hilo as an incoming freshman. The scholarship includes full tuition for four years at the Hilo campus, provided the student maintains a superior grade point average each year.

Chancellor‘s Scholars must graduate in the top 10 percent of their high school class and earn at least a 3.5 GPA. During their first semester at UH Hilo, the scholars take a student success course and are invited to participate in various leadership and service opportunities throughout their college careers. They also become members of the Chancellor‘s Scholars‘ Club.

This year‘s 2008 — 2009 UH Hilo Chancellor‘s Scholars are: Krista Dumandan of Kailua High; Dylan James of Kapaa High; Justin Lozano of Waianae High; Kelsea Machida of Kamehameha High—Hawai‘i campus; Erin Mc Iver of Honokaa High; Jenny Nakano of Pearl City High; Sean Okimoto and Devin Tanaka of Castle High; Kimberly Oyama of Lanai High; Johnny Rivera of Pahoa High; Chihiro Sasaki and Aisha Tanaka of Waiakea High and Keshia Yorong of Hilo High.

For more information, contact Daryl Masanda at the UH Hilo Admissions Office, (808) 974-7414. Neighbor island residents may call toll-free, 1-800-897-4456.