Celebrating Zoology Graduate Students


Valentina Alvarez: NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

James Anderson: National Geographic Grant

Erik Brush: E. Alison Kay Award

Luke Campillo: EECB Carson Fellowship

Sean Canfield: UHM GSA Grant, Sigma Xi Grant--in-Aid

Emily Conklin: NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Tom Iwanicki: NSERC Fellowship, Edmondson Fund Award, UHM Outstanding International Student Award, UHM June Chun Naughton International Student Award

Jessica Schaefer: Sigma Xi Grant-in-Aid

Robyn Screen: E. Alison Kay Award

Narrissa Spies: Mellon-Hawai'i Doctoral Fellowship

Helen Sung: Guest Van Riper Grant

Molly Timmers: NMFS-Sea Grant Joint Fellowship

Lindsay Veazey: Guest Van Riper Grant

Van Wishingrad: ARCS Foundation Roth Fellowship, Systematics Research Fund Grant



Zoology Graduate Students published over 20 papers in 2016! Congratulations to everyone who published as well as to the following students on their recent accomplishments:


The Charles H. and Margaret B. Edmondson Research Fund - awarded to Claire Lewis


The Jessie D. Kay Memorial Research Grant - awarded to Mark Royer


The Elizabeth Alison Kay Endowed Award - awarded to Luke Campillo and Claire Lewis


The Tester Symposium Award for Best Paper - awarded to Tom Iwanicki


The Lord/Lord Fellowship - awarded to Sean Canfield


The Nancy Foster Scholarship - awarded to Richard Coleman


The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship and The Kamehameha Schools 'Imi Na'auao Scholarship - awarded to Ale'alani Dudoit


The NSF Dissertation Improvement Grant and The Soroptomist Fellowship - awarded to Jessica Maxfield


The NOAA Marine Education and Training Grant - awarded to Narrissa Spies


Funded Sea Grant Proposals - awarded to Richard Coleman, Kaleonani Hurley, and Lindsey Veazey

Last Modified: 
09/14/2018 at 7:42am